Board » Rules Questions

Posted By Topic » Fostmaidens and Runestones (again I know)
Group: Site Member
Member Since: 08/23/2010
Member: 1207
Total Posts: 174
Posted: Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 8:17 PM
Hello all, I'm here to ask once again with the new wendigo book here available and read through a couple of times now. I would alos like to see this in the FAQ under Runestones or frostmaidens as not in their if the same answer comes up.

The frost maiden entry states, they may not be given armor (armour for us aussies and brits) or weapons and can only have a standard bearer and muso if a unit of 10 is purchased, no mention of runestones (which i see like amulets.)

The Shaman entry states: "The shaman may equip up to 3 units or characters in the warband with runestones provided they are not of the same type"

No where in the book does it mention frost maidens can't have them. Just like specialsts/ sepecialist units in Ægyptus can have ammulets as previously mentioned on the old forums example typhon assassin with amulet of set (their not being a restriction) and warhawks with amulets of horus I see No reasson to Dissallow frost maiden units and (icewitch if attached) to have no access to runestones....

If the intention with release of the book is to not have them can this be placed in the FAQ or if they are to have limited access (example they can't have runestones of protection but can have swiftness or fury).

Because the book doesn't restrict you from it and actually says you can have it by rules as written.

Group: Site Member
Member Since: 08/23/2010
Member: 1207
Total Posts: 174
Posted: Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 2:47 AM
Bump for reply or an faq response.

Not trying to be an arse about this just want to have the records cleared :)

Group: Site Member
Member Since: 08/22/2010
Member: 1205
Total Posts: 90
Posted: Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 2:59 PM
I honestly thought that specialists could not take amulets. I thought most of them said you can take no additional equipment for them, which to me means amulets. I would assume the same holds true of the ice maidens. At least, that i show I'm going to play it until I hear otherwise.

I've never been a fan of the "it doesn't say I can't " argument though.

Group: Site Member
Member Since: 03/21/2007
Member: 577
Total Posts: 715
Posted: Monday, Dec 20, 2010 at 6:22 PM Edited on 2010-12-20 18:23:05.0
Here's some fuel fire! Straight from the FAQ on the forum here for Equipment:

Specialists' Equipment:

Specialists come as they are equipped in the rulebook and may not purchase additional equipment. The exceptions to this are:

* A Khemru Beastmaster may trade his sling for Khemru throwing clubs.

* Priests may purchase equipment.

* Non-Monster Specialists may be given Amulets.

Now, the question is are the Frost Maidens considered a specialist?

Slayer of the Minotaur Lord of Knossos (S.D. '10), Savior of Calydon (S.D. '11)

Group: Site Member
Member Since: 11/16/2005
Member: 9
Total Posts: 1044
Posted: Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 2:01 AM
Frostmaidens are not Specialists, as Specialists cannot form units of their own. They're closer to being an elite troop type -- like the Warhawks or Necropolis Guard. Or maybe Satyrs would be a better analogy. But using the write-ups of the first two as a guideline, I would say that since those other troop types can be given Amulets, a unit of Frostmaidens should be allowed to be equipped with Runestones (by paying the appropriate cost, of course).

HOWEVER, be prepared for Fitz to possibly overrule me on this. Runestones are not the same thing as Amulets, and they affect the balance of the game differently. Also, I've been away from the game (and, as you've probably noticed, the forums) for awhile, and I could easily be forgetting something!

Group: Site Member
Member Since: 08/23/2010
Member: 1207
Total Posts: 174
Posted: Tuesday, Dec 21, 2010 at 6:13 AM Edited on 2010-12-21 06:14:40.0
Ya kinda of why I was putting this up the restrictions on frost maidens where only weapons and armour can't be given to them and the shaman says he can give runestones to any character or unit (that's for their equipment for the i thought they where equipment argument no specific other mention of runestones)...

Ammulets not directly being equipment (not in equipment section) plus the post of non monster specialists being able to use them, just trying to figure where the runestones fit in....

Fitz did mention no they don't on playtest PDF but that specifically mentioned the wendigo who carried it on each stone the rulebook doesn't and directly mentions model (not wendigo restriction), but the wording thier was a little different and something being confirmed and faqed would be great.

EDIT: Thanks for the reply Anubis :) also welcome back to the forums.

Chief Croc, Lord Octoblob
Group: Administrator
Member Since: 11/16/2005
Member: 2
Total Posts: 1666
Posted: Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 9:47 AM
Yes, Ryan is right, the Frostmaidens are now allowed to have runestones.

They are not Specialists (those are characters, not units), they are a unit.

Hope this helps!

Group: Site Member
Member Since: 08/23/2010
Member: 1207
Total Posts: 174
Posted: Sunday, Dec 26, 2010 at 2:10 PM
Cool confirmation is win.

Create Account | Visiting As: guest (US) | Log In
Terms of Service | Content & Artwork Copyright © 2010 Crocodile Games. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy