Board » Rules Questions

Posted By Topic » Charging
Jack Trowell
Group: Site Member
Member Since: 09/30/2014
Member: 2219
Total Posts: 19
Posted: Monday, Oct 13, 2014 at 4:14 AM Edited on 2014-10-13 08:40:43.0
Ok, so I got the Aegyptus rulebook recently.

I am still reading the rules, but I need a precision about the charge movement. In the rules, it is said that you must charge an unit in your 90° front arc, but also that you must charge directly in front of you, which seems to imply that you cannot change direction at all. There is mention of a "closing the door" movement once ou are in contact with your target, but I didn't found anyting allowing to wheel or other changinf of direction before that.

Here is an exemple :

"P" is a greek phalanx "B" is a basti archer unit

The Basti unit is in the front arc of the phalanx, but not directly in front of it. In this situation, can a charge be successfull or not ? If yes, how do you resolve it ? Does the phalanx get a wheel before moving ?()

Edit: see second post for the exemple

Jack Trowell
Group: Site Member
Member Since: 09/30/2014
Member: 2219
Total Posts: 19
Posted: Monday, Oct 13, 2014 at 4:20 AM Edited on 2014-10-13 04:21:14.0
Ok, the exemple is messed by the forum software, here is what I was trying to show: link

CBP3
High Tethru Investigator
Group: Site Member
Member Since: 12/02/2005
Member: 55
Total Posts: 3016
Posted: Monday, Oct 13, 2014 at 7:47 AM
It's been a while since I've gotten a non-skirmish game on WarGods, but I'll try to dust off my memory:

Setting aside that a phalanx charging will lose some of the special rules it gets, in your example the phalanx (assuming it is headed "down") would be able to hit the Basti unit because it is within the front 90° arc.

Presuming it's in range, the Phalanx will be moved into contact with the Basti and the Phalanx would hit the left side of the Basti unit. The Phalanx would be straightened out to have the front of the unit facing into the left side of the Basti unit with some bonuses for the charge and for hitting a unit in the side.

Then the Basti will probably die and/or run away.

If the Basti were out of range or not in the front 90° arc the phalanx could still do a charge move but instead of "drifting" toward the Basti unit the minimum charge movement would be straight ahead. So you could have a unit start then game across the table from a hated enemy unit and they declare a charge each turn until they make it to that hated unit. Although in that case they would have to make a disorder check after each failed charge.

---------------
http://minismithsforge.blogspot.com/ http://shefdumabuki.blogspot.com/

Jack Trowell
Group: Site Member
Member Since: 09/30/2014
Member: 2219
Total Posts: 19
Posted: Monday, Oct 13, 2014 at 8:40 AM
Apologies, I should have specified that the Phalanx unit front is to the right.

I updated my exemple to make it more clear. I also added a dotted line to make clear that in my exemple if the Phalanx charged in a straight line they would miss the Basti unit.

As the Basti are still however in the 90° front arc, and if we suppose that they are in range, is the charge still possible in this situation ?

If yes, how and when do the Phalanx turn to face the Basti ?

Thanks in advance for any answer.

Jack Trowell
Group: Site Member
Member Since: 09/30/2014
Member: 2219
Total Posts: 19
Posted: Monday, Oct 13, 2014 at 8:43 AM
Another way to put my question might be : is the potential charge area a rectangle in front of the charging unit (width = front of the unit, length = charge distance), or is it a cone corresponding to the 90° front arc that is in range ?

Osiris
Chief Croc, Lord Octoblob
Group: Administrator
Member Since: 11/16/2005
Member: 2
Total Posts: 1665
Posted: Monday, Oct 13, 2014 at 10:08 AM
You may charge in a straight line, anywhere in the unit's forward 90-degree field. But you can't charge "around corners" or around obstacles or other units.

Jack Trowell
Group: Site Member
Member Since: 09/30/2014
Member: 2219
Total Posts: 19
Posted: Monday, Oct 13, 2014 at 10:50 AM
Ok, so if I understand correctly, you do get the full 90° cone, it's just that the "straight line" can start at an angle from your charging unit, that's what I was missing, thank you for your answer.

Note : it's of course too late for the current Aegyptus rulebook, but I think that it might help if the Olympus final rulebook had a few more exemples to illustrate this kind of situation.

1
Create Account | Visiting As: guest (US) | Log In
Terms of Service | Content & Artwork Copyright © 2010 Crocodile Games. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy